top of page

July 16-17 | The St. Regis Hotel | Washington DC

Detailed Advance Agenda 


Tuesday, July 16 

Morning Plenary


8:30 AM


Mr. David Blee

President & CEO

U.S. Nuclear Industry Council

The Honorable Bud Albright

Chairman, U.S. Nuclear Industry Council &

CEO, Albright Strategies &

U.S. Under Secretary of Energy (2006-2008)

8:45 AM

The Global Market and Policy Landscape


The Honorable Jeffrey Merrifield


Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman



U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (1998 - 2007)


Chair USNIC Advanced Reactors Task Force

9:15 AM

Congressional Keynote


The Honorable Lisa Murkowski

U.S. Senator, Alaska 

Chairman, Senate Committee on Energy & Natural Resources

9:45 AM

U.S. Department of Energy Keynote

The Honorable Rita Baranwal 

Assistant Secretary for Nuclear Energy

10:15 AM



10:30 AM

Panel: Financial Perspectives on Advanced Nuclear

Mr. Steven Greenwald

Senior Advisor

Credit Suisse

Mr. Michael Eckhart

Managing Director


Mr. James Magowan

Managing Director for Private Capital Raising

Growth Capital Services

11:15 AM

Panel: C-Suite Perspective: Advanced Nuclear as a Game Changer


Mr. John Hopkins

Chairman & CEO

NuScale Power

The Honorable Clay Sell

Chief Executive Officer


Ms. Marcia Burkey

Chief Financial Officer



12:00 PM



Afternoon Plenary 


1:00 PM

Why Advanced Nuclear is Changing the Financing Paradigm

Ms. Valerie Gardner

Founding Principal and Managing Partner

Nucleation Capital, LP

1:30 PM

The Speed of Change and What's Driving It 

Mr. Peter Kelly-Detwiler


NorthBridge Energy Partners

2:00 PM

Decarbonization, Electrification and Innovation

Ms. Damali Harding


Oracle | Opower



2:30 PM

Venture Capital 2.0

Dr. Sanjiv Malhotra

Chief Executive Officer

PLUS and AUI Ventures

3:00 PM


3:15 PM

Panel: C-Suite - Advanced Nuclear: What Needs to be Done


The Honorable Daniel Poneman

President & CEO

Centrus Energy

Mr. Jay Wileman

President and CEO
GE Hitachi Nuclear Energy (GEH)

Mr. Donald Wolf

Chairman, CEO & Co-Founder

Advanced Reactor Concepts LLC (ARC)

4:00 PM

Export-Import Bank of the United States Perspective

Mr. Jim Cruse

Senior Vice President, Office of Policy Analysis and International Relations

Export-Import Bank of the United States

4:30 PM

DOE Loan Programs Office Perspective

Mr. Douglas Schultz

Director of Origination, Loan Programs Office

U.S. Department of Energy

5:00 PM

View from the States: Plant Vogtle Expansion

The Honorable Tim Echols

Vice Chairman

Georgia Public Service Commission

NNC2019 Reception Sponsored by Pillsbury

Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman, LLP (1200 Seventeenth Street NW, Washington, DC 20036)



Wednesday, July 17




8:30 AM

The New U.S. International Development Finance Corporation

Mr. Edward Burrier *

Vice President, External Affairs

Overseas Private Investment Corporation

9:00 AM

The Smart and Renewable Energy Transition, Trends and Insights for Advanced Nuclear

Mr. Hendrik Tiesinga

Chief Strategy Officer

New Energy Nexus

9:30 AM

Panel: Automation, Advanced Manufacturing Innovation, Hybrid Advanced Nuclear Systems, and Advanced Fuels


Dr. Jonathan Cirtain

President of Advanced Technology Programs

BWX Technologies

Mr. Rich Powell

Executive Director


Mr. Seth Grae

President & CEO


10:30 AM


10:45 AM

The Promise of Micro-Reactors

Ms. Caroline Cochran

Founder and COO

Oklo Inc.


11:15 AM

Capital Raising for Advanced Nuclear

Mr. Bret Kugelmass

Managing Director 

Energy Impact Center

Mr. Brad McPherson

Manager of Business Development for NB Power and

Director of Business for the New Brunswick Energy Solutions Corporation

12:00 PM

Panel: Public-Private Partnership


Dr. Corey McDaniel

Vice President, Business Development

Canadian Nuclear Laboratories

Mr. Douglas Schultz

Director of Origination, Loan Programs Office

U.S. Department of Energy

Mr. Walter Howes

Managing Director

Verdigris Capital


* Pending final confirmation

bottom of page